Getting Weighed at the Doctor’s Office, and Why I’m Going to Do It

I never get weighed at my primary-care doctor’s office, and they’re totally cool with it (I’ve mentioned before how much I love my doctor, and that’s one of the reasons why).

I have an OB/GYN appointment in 40 minutes, and I was all set to decline to be weighed, which I’ve never done there before. But then I remembered why I made the appointment: despite not getting a period for over a year (because I have a Mirena IUD, and ye gods, the Internet will get me to share EVERYTHING, won’t it?), I keep getting painful cramps throughout the month (every month, that is), on no particular schedule. That is, I can’t point to the calendar and say, “This is when I would have gotten my period, so that must be why I’m getting cramps,” because they happen at random intervals throughout the month. And have been for about a year or more.

I’ve been loving Rioiriri’s series of Fat Is A Symptom, Not A Disease, and the one that made me sit up and go “BUH?” was the one on ovarian cysts. I can’t diagnose myself, obviously. But in addition to the painful random cramps, my lower abdomen is disproportionately large. None of my pants fit right, but the problem is *only* in the belly area — the legs fit properly, but the belly area that *did* fit properly when I bought the pants is now painfully tight.

While it’s true that I could just be denying my fat, or ignoring a weight gain in just my belly area, I’m also losing some weight in my face and (oddly) shoulders, because I stopped taking Zoloft exactly 1 month ago, and because I’ve been working out more lately.

So…weight loss in my face and shoulders, but disproportionately large belly? (I’m not pregnant; believe me, I checked. More than once.) Plus painful cramps all month long? Maybe it’s a fibroid or some other ovarian cyst. I mean, on one hand, I don’t want to have a cyst, but on the other hand, I would like an explanation for the cramps. Because I’m not digging the pain.

So while I don’t want to be weighed this afternoon, I’m going to let them, because I *do* want my weight recorded so that the doctor can compare it to what I’ve weighed in the past. And then we’ll see what might be going on under the hood.

Leave a Reply

